Northern Territory

Darwin's picturesque waterfront

Northern Territory is one of two federal main land territories of the Commonwealth of Australia. It is located in the far North of the continent and is bordered in the North by the Timor and Arafura Seas and by the Gulf of Carpentaria. To the East it borders Queensland, to the South with South Australia and to the West is shares the border with Western Australia.
It is the third largest Australian land mass but with only 228,000 inhabitants. Much of its economy is based on Mining and Tourism. Well known tourist spots include Ayers Rock and the Olgas (Uluru National Park) and the famous Kakadu National Park.

Kakadu National Park

The Stuart Highway is Australia’s principal North-South route all the way from Darwin in the NT through Alice Springs to Port Augusta in South Australia. It is Highway #1 and it plays in the Northern Territory, an important role as a concentration for its population. This is contrary to the rest of Australia where the population is concentrated in the various coastal areas.

"Road Trains" on the Stuart Highway

Only the first couple of hundred kilometres are dual-carriage way and the remainder is a well maintained but single highway. Only as recent as the mid 1980’s did the highway become fully sealed.
Early 2000 the railway connection from Adelaide (South Australia) to Darwin in the Northern Territory was finally concluded. The line is extensively used for both freight and passenger movement and is a major tourist attraction (the Ghan). The whole trip which goes through Alice Springs takes more than 48 hours and covers a distance of 3000 km.

Ularoo (Ayers Rock)

Darwin is the main city in the ‘Top End’ of Australia. A catastrophic cyclone ruined the city (1974). It was rebuilt and is now an extremely modern city, with large shopping centres and superb restaurants. It is famous for its wealth of Aboriginal heritage. Darwin is an excellent base for travellers heading to the south-easterly Kakadu National Park.

The Ghan Train cuts north to south across Australia

Climate of the Northern Territory varies from full tropical in the North with a typical dry and wet season, to a semi-arid climate or steppe climate in the centre which may be classified as desert.

Darwin Harbour

Desert near Alice Springs


Find your ideal holiday: Start searching in the sidebarof this page or click HERE